"Liquid glass against hospital germs" - awarded, among others, with the "Land der Ideen" science prize and the NHS-Award

Scientifically tested and practically proven barrier protection in the healthcare sector

Multi-resistant germs are one of the greatest challenges in care and healthcare. The adhesion of harmful microorganisms to sensitive medical contact surfaces such as surgical instruments or prostheses, as well as long-term damage to the surfaces through frequent contact with body fluids or disinfectants, must be avoided in the interest of a high standard of safety and hygiene.

Nanopool’s high-performance barrier layer technology has been proven to prevent the adhesion and thus also the multiplication and spread of microorganisms on surfaces of all kinds.

At the same time, the long-term coating reduces the friction coefficient of medical devices.

The efficacy, among others against viruses, gram-positive and gram-negative bacteria, as well as the safety for humans, materials and the environment has been confirmed by scientific awards, authorities and medical experts.

That's what customers and experts say

Antimicrobial /antibacterial

When used in hygiene-sensitive areas, the NP® barrier coating measurably reduces the adhesion of microorganisms. The antimicrobial properties of the coating thus also support sterile contact with blood and body tissue. Long-term practical tests of more than 360 days in a care facility were able to prove that the germ load on contact surfaces after treatment with the NP® protection is significantly lower when cleaning with warm water only than without the barrier coating.

Resistance to mechanical and chemical influences

The environmentally friendly NP® coating ensures exceptionally high durability despite intensive cleaning and sterilisation processes. The barrier coating thus provides surfaces and instruments in the hygiene sector with long-lasting protection against corrosion and wear. Despite its high resistance, the coating is so ultra-thin that it cannot be perceived with the bare senses. At the same time, it bonds firmly to the carrier surface without flaking off.

Minimisation of friction

The NP® barrier significantly minimises the coefficient of friction of surfaces so that safety and hygiene can be ensured even more reliably when using medical instruments. We achieve this through our unique and award-winning liquid glass technology, which works by reducing surface energy.

Biocompatibility

Especially in highly sensitive areas such as hospitals, care facilities and kindergartens, the harmlessness of a hygiene application plays a central role. Several biocompatibility studies prove the high compatibility of the NP® solutions. Either the epicutaneous test or the repetitive open application test (ROAT) - both carried out by a dermatologist, allergist and environmental physician - showed that NP® products are very well tolerated by the skin and mucous membranes.

Safe effectiveness - resource-saving and cost-cutting

The effect of NP® liquid glass is based on an ultra-thin physical barrier layer that is able to repel microorganisms by denying them the basis to adhere and multiply.

In addition to optimising the hygiene status, this also significantly reduces the cleaning effort and in particular the use of aggressive cleaning chemicals, which strongly reduces the burden on the environment.

Beyond this, the protective coating is completely harmless to humans and the environment and can be completely returned to the natural cycle, because NP® liquid glass is based on silicon dioxide – SiO2 for short – a substance that can be found in nature in quartz sand.

Proven and awarded

The high effectiveness of the patented NP® liquid glass barrier layer has been confirmed in numerous clinical tests and practical applications and has received several awards.

As part of the “Land der Ideen” (Land of Ideas) award, the NP® technology with the application “Liquid glass against hospital germs” prevailed against projects from the Max Planck Institute for Neurological Research in Cologne and the Fraunhofer Institute for Environmental and Safety Technology in Oberhausen and was also named the national winner in the science category.

As part of a study by the British National Health Service (NHS), a number of highly sensitive contact surfaces in hospitals were treated with NP® liquid glass to reduce exposure to hospital germs. The level of contamination of surfaces in hospital areas was significantly minimised by Nanopool technology compared to untreated test surfaces, resulting in an improvement in the efficiency and effectiveness of cleaning.

„Flüssiges Glas gegen Krankenhauskeime“ – unter anderem ausgezeichnet mit dem Wissenschaftspreis „Land der Ideen“ und dem NHS-Award

Wissenschaftlich geprüfter und praxiserprobter Barriereschutz im Gesundheitswesen

Multiresistente Keime gehören zu den größten Herausforderungen in Pflege und Healthcare. Die Anhaftung schädlicher Mikroorganismen auf sensiblen medizinischen Kontaktflächen wie OP-Besteck oder Prothesen sowie die langfristige Schädigung der Flächen bei häufigem Kontakt mit Körperflüssigkeiten oder Desinfektionsmitteln gilt es im Sinne eines hohen Sicherheits- und Hygienestandards zu vermeiden.

Die High-Performance Barriereschichttechnologie von Nanopool verhindert nachgewiesenermaßen die Anhaftung und damit auch die Vermehrung und Verbreitung von Mikroorganismen auf Oberflächen aller Art.

Gleichzeitig reduziert das Langzeit-Coating den Reibungskoeffizienten von Medizinprodukten.Die Wirksamkeit, unter anderem gegen Viren, gram-positive und gram-negative Bakterien, sowie die Sicherheit sowohl für Mensch, Material und Umwelt wurde von Wissenschaftspreisen, Behörden und medizinischen Gutachtern bestätigt.

Das sagen Kunden und Experten

Antimikrobiell /antibakteriell

Beim Einsatz in hygienesensiblen Bereichen reduziert die NP®-Barrierebeschicht messbar die Anhaftung von Mikroorganismen. Die antimikrobiellen Eigenschaften des Coatings unterstützen damit auch den sterilen Kontakt mit Blut und Körpergewebe. Langzeitpraxistests von mehr als 360 Tagen in einer Pflegeeinrichtung konnten nachweisen, dass die Keimlast auf Kontaktflächen nach einer Behandlung durch den NP®-Schutz bei Reinigung nur mit warmem Wasser signifikant geringer ist als ohne die Barriereschicht.

Widerstandsfähigkeit gegen mechanische und chemische Einflüsse

Durch das umweltschonende NP®-Coating wird eine außergewöhnlich hohe Langlebigkeit trotz intensiver Reinigungs- und Sterilisationsprozesse gewährleistet. Die Barriereschicht schützt so Flächen und Instrumente im Hygienebereich langanhaltend vor Korrosion und Verschleiß. Die Beschichtung ist trotz ihrer hohen Widerstandsfähigkeit so ultradünn, dass sie mit bloßen Sinnen nicht wahrgenommen werden kann. Gleichzeitig verbindet sie sich fest und ohne abplatzen zu können mit der Trägerfläche.

Minimierung von Reibung

Die NP® Barriere minimiert signifikant den Reibungskoeffizienten von Oberflächen, sodass Sicherheit und Hygiene beim Einsatz medizinischer Instrumente noch zuverlässiger gewährleistet werden können. Dies erreichen wir durch unsere einzigartige und vielfach preisgekrönte Flüssigglastechnologie, die durch eine Verringerung der Oberflächenenergie.

Biokompatibilität

Gerade in hochsensiblen Bereichen wie Krankenhäusern, Pflegeeinrichtungen und Kindergärten spielt die Unbedenklichkeit einer Hygieneanwendung eine zentrale Rolle. Mehrere Biokompatibilitätsstudien belegen die hohe Verträglichkeit der NP®-Lösungen. Sowohl der Epikutantest als auch der Repetitive Offene Anwendungstest (ROAT) – beide durchgeführt durch einen Dermatologen, Allergologen und Umweltmediziner – ergaben, dass NP® Produkte sehr gut haut- und schleimhautverträglich sind.

Sichere Wirksamkeit – ressourcenschonend und kostensenkend

Die Wirkung von NP®-Flüssigglas basiert auf einer ultradünnen physikalischen Barriereschicht, die in der Lage ist, Mikroorganismen abzuweisen, indem sie ihnen die Grundlage zur Anhaftung und Vermehrung verwehrt.

Neben dem Optimieren des Hygienestatus‘ reduziert dies auch erheblich den Reinigungsaufwand und insbesondere den Einsatz scharfer Reinigungschemikalien, wodurch die Umwelt stark entlastet wird.

Darüber hinaus ist die Schutzschicht vollkommen unbedenklich für Mensch und Umwelt und kann vollständig in den natürlichen Kreislauf zurückgegeben werden, denn NP®-Flüssigglas basiert auf Siliziumdioxid – kurz SiO2 – einem Stoff, der in der Natur in Quarzsand zu finden ist.

Erprobt und ausgezeichnet

Die hohe Wirksamkeit der patentierten NP®-Flüssigglas-Barriereschicht wurde in zahlreichen klinischen Tests und praktischen Anwendungen bestätigt und mehrfach ausgezeichnet.

Im Rahmen der Auszeichnung „Land der Ideen“ setzte sich die NP®-Technologie mit der Anwendung „Flüssiges Glas gegen Krankenhauskeime“ gegen Projekte des Kölner Max-Planck-Instituts für neurologische Forschung und des Oberhausener Fraunhofer-Instituts für Umwelt- und Sicherheitstechnik durch und wurde zudem zum Bundessieger in der Kategorie Wissenschaft ernannt.

 

Im Rahmen einer Studie des Britischen National Health Service (NHS) wurde in Krankenhäusern eine Reihe von hochsensiblen Kontaktoberflächen mit NP®-Flüssigglas veredelt, um die Belastung durch Krankenhauskeime zu reduzieren. Der Grad der Kontamination von Oberflächen im Klinikbereich konnte durch die Nanopool-Technologie im Vergleich zu unbehandelten Testflächen signifikant minimiert und so  eine Verbesserung der Effizienz und Effektivität der Reinigung erreicht werden.